There are a number of factors you should consider when faced with the choice of contesting or accepting a conviction for a moving violation or other Georgia traffic offense. One of the more significant issues is how a conviction will be reflected on your driving record and how it will affect your ability to drive as well as how much you pay for car insurance. The impact of your Georgia moving violation conviction will largely depend on the Georgia Driver’s License Point System.
What is the Georgia Point System?
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) assigns each moving violation conviction a certain number of “points,” from one to six. The point value relates to the seriousness of the offense in posing a risk to traffic safety. Points stay active on an individual’s driving record for two years from the conviction date.
Some of the more common Georgia traffic offenses and their assigned points include:
- 6 Points: Unlawfully passing a school bus
- 6 Points: Aggressive driving
- 4 Points: Reckless driving
- 4 Points: Improper passing on a curve or a hill
- 3 Points: Failure to obey any traffic-control device or police officer
- 3 Points: All other non-stated violations involving a moving vehicle
- 2 Points: Possession an open container of alcoholic beverage while driving
- 1 Point: Not having a child in a child restraint (2 points for subsequent offenses)
- 1 Point: Violation of usage of wireless telecommunication device requirements
- 1 Point: Operating a Vehicle while Text Messaging
- 1 Point: HOV lane violation (fourth or more offense)
Points for speeding are awarded as follows
- 6 Points: Driving 34 miles per hour or more over the speed limit
- 4 Points: Driving between 24-33 miles per hour over the limit
- 3 Points: Driving between 19-23 miles per hour over the limit
- 2 Points: Driving between 15-18 miles per hour over the limit
Consequences of Points Accumulation
DDS is authorized to suspend your license if you accumulate 15 points within 24 months under the point system. It is important to note that states share their traffic offense information with one another, and a moving violation in another state will be assigned the appropriate points under Georgia’s points system and be counted toward the total amount of allowable points for a given period.
Car insurance companies use points and convictions to set their insurance rates, so every ticket and every point you accumulate will have a direct impact on how much you pay for the car insurance you are required to have under Georgia law.
If you’ve been issued a ticket, you owe it to yourself to understand your options. Fighting back may be the best course of action and the one may spare you from significant consequences now and down the road. Talk to an experienced Georgia traffic ticket lawyer before deciding what to do.
Alan Welch: Your DUI, Speeding, and Traffic Defense Lawyer in Brunswick
If you’re facing a DUI, speeding charge or traffic violation, give me a call at (912) 265-9811 for a free consultation. Together, we’ll develop the best defense strategy for your particular case. I look forward to speaking with you.
This article has been prepared by J. Alan Welch Law for informational purposes only and does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice. The information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to substitute for legal advice from an attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.
This blog is for educational purposes only as well as to give you general information and a general understanding of the law, not to provide specific legal advice. By using this blog you understand that there is no attorney client relationship between you and the attorney or law firm. The blog should not be used as a substitute for competent legal advice from a licensed professional attorney in your state.